top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturerittlereviews

Holmes Coming

What's happening, Book Lovers?


I thought I'd try to start each blog by sharing something about myself, instead of just diving straight in. As some of you may know, the past year has been an especially rough one for me due to one of my chronic health conditions relapsing and actually being diagnosed with a second.


I went through three separate surgeries: one diagnostic; one pain management; and the third was a moderately major. So, I'm really hoping to make a go at this blog and continue to meet new friends, talk about some amazing books, develop a following on here in conjunction with Bookstagram, and actually be able to say everything and not worry about getting a "caption too long" message every time.


Reading has always been a source of comfort to me, as well as writing. One of my favorite quotes states: "When in Pain, Distract the Brain", so that's what I try to do when my pain level skyrockets.


Last year, I decided to finally check out Netgalley and see what it was all about. I'm honestly more of an "old school, book in hand" kinda gal. There's just nothing like the feel of the pages slowly turning and scent of a library between your fingers.


Holmes Coming was the first book I requested from Netgalley and was approved to read, and I found this story absolutely charming! Honestly, I have never read any books about Sherlock Holmes, though I’ve wanted too. I have never even watched the movies. But if he is anything like the character I met in this story then I have definitely been missing out all these years!


Doctor Amy Winslow is the main point of view we get to hear this tale from, and I absolutely adore her as well. She is smart, snarky, and everything I love in a female lead!


When Amy visits a former patient in her isolated Victorian house in Marin County, California, she discovers in a secret part of the schedule a laboratory, a sarcophagus, and a man who injects himself with something before falling “dead” at her feet.


He claims to be the real-life Victorian detective, Holmes, who allowed Conan Doyle to write stories based on his real-life cases. He says that becoming uninspired by 1890’s crime, he devised a method to hibernate for a century in order to investigate future mysteries.


Doctor Winslow is initially skeptical, as I'm sure many of us would be (including myself). Holmes claims that his Scotland Yard papers were stolen while he was sleeping. But, my girl, Amy, does eventually come to the conclusion that he is THE famous, fictional detective Sherlock

Holmes, still just as brash, and just as egotistical as he was a century ago.


As Holmes discovers, times have definitely changed and his “brilliant” deductions are laughingly or dangerously wrong but eventually he starts to view Amy as his new Watson, and as they tries to solve a crime that seems to have been perpetrated by a direct descendant of his archenemy, Professor Moriarty.


Let's talk about the audiobook for this one, which I absolutely loved, most especially because it had a full cast which I feel really brings the story to life. I believe that I’ve listened to a prior reading by the lady who reads for Amy, and I enjoy her voice.


As I mentioned, I've never read any other stories that portray Holmes , but if he's anything like this, sign me up! I don't know what his relationship with Dr Watson is like either, but I love the one he built in such a short period of time Dr Winslow.


I don’t know if there are going to be any more books, but I would love to see a series from this because the characters are so much fun and likeable, and it ended all too quickly.


I actually read this one last year and in case you couldn't guess, it was 5/5 🌟's for me.


If you were already a Holmes fan before reading this blog entry, all should read Holmes Coming.


If you love a strong female lead, you should read Holmes Coming.


If you love rivals to friends to maybe something more, you should read Holmes Coming.


If you like witty banter, 1800's England references in present day San Francisco, you should read Holmes Coming.


So, if you do, please comment below and tell me what you thought! 😊



If you'd like to buy a copy (and help me with my side hustle, that's turning into a very slow moving income) then please click on my Amazon Influencer links:


Holmes Coming (Book): https://amzn.to/4ccEWQm


And you can't possibly read a book about Holmes without a Holmes bookmark, right ?!?! 😉




Until Next Time...


-Amy


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page