top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturerittlereviews

The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle

I’m posting about this one because it came up in my memories from two years ago and I feel like it doesn’t get talked about enough.


Before reading this book I had heard mixed reviews on it. It was actually a book club read a few months ago but I didn’t receive it from the library to participate in time. Half of those who read it loved it, while the other half could not finish it and felt it was confusing and hard to follow. So I wasn’t sure which side I’d fall into at first. But, honestly, I loved it! The premise of this book is so different from what I’m used to reading in a murder-mystery and that made it very unique and exciting.


Evelyn Hardcastle is going to be murdered every night at 11pm, though her death appears to be a suicide. The main character of the book has many different names and faces. He awakens as a different guest each day and he must piece together the question “Who Killed Evelyn” if he wants to return to his own body. He only has 8 tries/bodies to do it in, and someone is trying to kill him to keep him from finding out.


What is interesting about each of these individuals he inhabits, is how he is able to use each of their personalities to piece together the clues. It’s amazing to see as the story unfolds just how the little actions of each character, when he inhabits them, sets into motion the story as a whole, because each individual action affects the timeline.


There were so many twists and turns and this was truly a literary puzzle that sucked me in and had me trying to unravel the web Stuart Turton spun. I’m a huge fan of True Crime and Crime dramas so I personally didn’t find this book confusing at all. But I gotta admit, the ending still threw me because I didn’t see it coming!


Have you read this one yet? If so, what did you think? If not, did I pique your interest?


-Amy



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page